©2019 Simon Diricq

L'Effet de Coriolis

Due to Earth’s rotation, any object in motion naturally deviates from its trajectory, to the right in the northern hemisphere, and to the left in the southern hemisphere. This effect is often called the Coriolis Force. The mathematical expression for this force first appeared in a paper by the French scientist, Gaspard-Gustave Coriolis. The force can most easily be recognised in meteorology and oceanography. It affects the movement of winds, ocean currents, and cyclones. Legend has it that the Coriolis Effect is also observable in bathtubs, but of course the force is negligible at this scale.

 

The piece begins with a B, the third line of the staff symbolically representing the equator. The musician is then set in motion by a crescendo before being carried into a storm. The idea of deviation is omnipresent in this tormented work with fictitious lines getting closer together or further apart all the time. The lull in the eye of the cyclone is represented by the pitch of the notes and is fixed on a simple scale that begins with a semitone, then a tone, and progresses in widening intervals. The saxophone crosses the path of two cyclones that meet in this piece. The instrument's volubility is particularly adept at portraying this turmoil.

 

'L’Effet de Coriolis' is a piece dedicated to the Polish saxophonist Jakub Jarosz, a former student of the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel, who was writing an article about Belgian music at the same time that I was composing this work.

 

I premiered it at the Royal College of Music in London on 26 January, 2018.

"L'Effet de Coriolis" is now available !

You can get the score for alto saxophone solo for 15 €.

©2019 Simon Diricq

L'Effet de Coriolis

Dû à la rotation terrestre, tout corps en mouvement est dévié de sa trajectoire, vers la droite dans l’hémisphère nord, et vers la gauche dans l’hémisphère sud. Cet effet est plus souvent appelé Force de Coriolis, du nom de l’ingénieur français qui, le premier, en a fait la description mathématique : Gaspard-Gustave Coriolis. Il est particulièrement observable en météorologie et en océanographie, influant notamment sur le mouvement des masses d’air, d’eau, des cyclones… La légende veut que l’effet de Coriolis soit aussi observable dans un lavabo qui se vide, mais cela n’a pas été prouvé scientifiquement, la force de Coriolis étant trop faible pour avoir le temps d’influer sur une si petite quantité d’eau. 


La pièce commence sur un si, la troisième ligne de la portée représentant symboliquement l’équateur. L’instrumentiste va être mis en mouvement par un crescendo avant d’être emporté dans une tempête. L’idée de déviation est omniprésente dans cette pièce tourmentée, des lignes fictives s’écartant ou se rapprochant sans cesse. Si on trouve une accalmie, dans l’œil du cyclone, elle concerne essentiellement les hauteurs de notes, et se fixe sur une échelle simple faite d’intervalles d’un demi-ton, puis de deux, de trois et ainsi de suite… Le saxophone traverse deux cyclones qui se rencontrent dans cette œuvre. La volubilité de l’instrument convient ici particulièrement pour retranscrire la tourmente. 


« L’Effet de Coriolis » est une pièce dédiée au saxophoniste polonais Jakub Jarosz, un ancien étudiant du Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel, qui s’y est intéressé lors de son écriture. Je l’ai créée lors d’un récital au Royal College of Music, à Londres, le 26 Janvier 2018.

"L'Effet de Coriolis" est maintenant disponible.

Il vous est possible de commander la partition au prix de 15 €. (frais de port compris)